University of Cyprus

The University of Cyprus was established in 1989 and received the first undergraduate and postgraduate students in 1992 and in 1997 respectively. Presently, the University of Cyprus has a reputable image, both locally and internationally, for its high level of teaching and for its extensive research work. The main objectives of the University are: to promote science and knowledge through teaching and research and to give an impetus to the cultural, social and economic development of Cyprus.


Research is one of the main activities of the academic staff at the University of Cyprus. Postgraduate students as well as Postgraduate Assistants are also important contributors to research conducted at the University of Cyprus. The research programmes at the University of Cyprus covers a wide range of subjects corresponding to the fields of interest or area of expertise of the existing academic staff. Research Programmes are funded either from the budget of the University or by various organisations in Cyprus and abroad, and especially, by research funding programmes of the European Union.

The University of Cyprus also collaborates, through inter-state or inter-university agreements, with universities and research centres abroad, for the promotion of scientific research, cooperation and exchange of information. At present, the University of Cyprus collaborates with approximately 120 universities and research centres all over the world.

Academic Staff:

The academic staff plays an active role in the international scientific state of affairs through publications in international magazines, scientific articles and its participation in international conferences, seminars and symposiums.

The academic staff comprises renowned Cypriot and Greek academics, as well as academics from abroad who are distinguished for their work in universities of Europe, America and in other prominent universities. Faculties and Departments:

The University of Cyprus consists of the following Faculties and their respective Departments:


Approximately 1000 undergraduate students are admitted to the University of Cyprus every year. The majority of undergraduate students are admitted at the University on the basis of their results in the Pancyprian Examinations, the competitive entrance examinations organised centrally by the Ministry of Education and Culture. Postgraduate students are admitted on the basis of other criteria which are also used by academic institutions in Europe and the United States.

Overseas students who are graduates of highs-schools recognized by the appropriate education authority of their country and who possess a good knowledge of Greek or Turkish can be admitted based on GCE or GCSE or other equivalent examinations, or based on the results of special examinations set by the University of Cyprus. Language of Instruction:

The official languages of instruction are the Greek and the Turkish, the official languages of the Republic as stipulated by the Constitution of the Republic of Cyprus. In postgraduate inter-University cooperation programmes, other languages may also be used. In a number of Departments such as the English Studies Department and the French Studies and Modern Languages Department, English and French, respectively, are the languages of instruction.


The University of Cyprus is a member of the Community of Mediterranean Universities (CMU), the Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe (UNICA), the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), the European Association of Universities (EUA), the Association of Arab and European Universities (AEUA) and LEONET. The University has also established close contacts with numerous international organisations, including UNESCO, CEPES and the Council of Europe.

The University of Cyprus has also established its own office in Brussels. The main purpose of the European Cooperation Office in Brussels is the reliable and timely information about the EU policies which are of interest to the University and particularly to those interested in research, education and culture.


The University of Cyprus has participated in the SOCRATES/ERASMUS Programme since the academic year 1998 - 1999. The programme has a number of activities, one of which is the exchange of students and academic staff. The exchange programme creates opportunities for mobility, thus strengthening understanding and familiarity amongst the peoples of Europe and particularly among the younger generation.

During the period 1998 - 2005, 364 students of the University of Cyprus studied at collaborating European Universities, while the University of Cyprus welcomed around 186 ERASMUS students, and 60 members of the academic staff participated in teaching exchanges. Within the framework of the SOCRATES / ERASMUS Programme for 2005/2006, the University of Cyprus has signed 175 bilateral agreements of collaboration with 110 universities in 19 European countries.

Student Services:

The Academic Affairs and the Student Welfare Service is responsible for registration, documentation, accommodation, student clubs, information on graduate studies and employment. The University also provides counselling services for personal and/or academic issues that may interfere with the student’s academic career. The University Careers Center provides information about postgraduate programmes and scholarships abroad. The Center is also available to help students choose and enter a satisfactory career. It also organises the annual “careers Fair”, lectures, workshops and other events relevant to employment and postgraduate studies abroad.

All students of the University of Cyprus are granted free medical and pharmaceutical care by all public hospitals when they present their student identity card. The University Health Center operating at the University central building offers first aid, provides advice on health issues, organizes prevention campaigns, blood donation and refers students to public hospitals.

The University of Cyprus began operating a number of student dormitories (208 bedspaces) on the new campus in September 2003. The Housing Office of the University provides information regarding the cost and criteria for campus accommodation. The Housing Office also maintains a list of flats and houses for rent as well as the names of students who require roommates. This list is available at the beginning of each academic year.

The students of the University of Cyprus find themselves in a modern educational environment, which every year develops to meet the challenges and demands of modern times, a significantly enriched and visibly upgraded university in comparison to the University of Cyprus of the previous decade.

Contact Information:

Address: 75 Kallipoleos Avenue
P.O. Box 20537
1678 Nicosia
Tel: 00357 22894000
Fax: 0035 7 22892100
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.